American Surgical Association (ASA)
Annual Meeting
Members Only
About / History

Search ASA

American Surgical Association Foundation Fellowship Research Award
The purpose of the ASAF Fellowship is to support and encourage gifted young surgeons who choose careers in investigation and academic surgery. Fellows will be supported in an initial year; the Fellowship can be renewed by review of the Fellowship Committee for a succeeding year. During the Fellowship years, the Awardee should have a primary role in research and teaching. It is expected that the Fellow will have a faculty position following the Fellowship in the Department of Surgery of the sponsoring institution. The application deadline for the 2023-2025 award was June 15, 2022.
Learn more about this award.
View previous recipients.

ASA/ESA Exchange Program
American Surgical Association members will be selected each year to attend the European Surgical Association Annual Meeting.
The application Deadline for the 2023 program was July 22, 2022.
Learn more about the details of the 2023 program and application process.
View previous recipients.

ASA Flance-Karl Award
The Flance-Karl Award was established in 1996 by Samuel A. Wells, Jr., MD, who was then President of the Association. The primary endowment for the award was a gift from Mr. David Farrell, Chief Executive Officer of the May Corporation, and the Barnes-Jewish-Christian Health Care System, both of St. Louis, Missouri. The award recognized I. Jerome Flance, MD, and Michael M. Karl, MD, two physicians in St. Louis, who cared for Mr. Farrell and his family. The Flance-Karl Award is presented to an American Surgical Association Fellow in the United States of America or Canada who has made a seminal contribution in basic laboratory research that has application to clinical surgery of any specialty. The recipient should be active in clinical or laboratory research and preferably an Active rather than Senior Fellow of the Association. Prior recipients of the ASAís Medallion for Scientific Achievement are not eligible for the Flance-Karl Award.
View previous recipients.

ACS/ASA Health Policy and Management Scholarship
The American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the American Surgical Association (ASA) co-sponsor an annual scholarship to subsidize attendance and participation in the Executive Leadership Program in Health Policy and Management at Brandeis University, Waltham, Massachusetts. The award is in the amount of $8,000, to be used toward the cost of tuition, travel, housing, and subsistence during the period of the course.
The award is open to non-resident surgeons who are members in good standing of both the ACS and the ASA, practicing in the United States. Applicants must be at least 30 years old, but under 60, on the date that the completed application is filed. The deadline to apply for the 2023 scholarship is March 15, 2023.
Learn more about this program.
View previous recipients.

American Surgical Association Surgical Leaders Fellowship Grant
As academic surgical associations, we have the opportunity to prepare future academic surgical leaders. In addition, the promotion of diversity in leadership is imperative. As such, the ASA has established an American Surgical Association Surgical Leaders Fellowship Grant (ASA SLF-Grant) in partnership with the Association of Women Surgeons (AWS), Society of Asian Academic Surgeons (SAAS), Society of Black Academic Surgeons (SBAS), and the Society of University Surgeons (SUS). Participation in the ASA SLF-Grant Program provides Fellows with a shadowing experience of being a surgical leader and exposes them to the competencies and responsibilities unique to these positions. Participating Fellows will be able to identify gaps in their professional experience, knowledge, and skills, that, if bridged, will better prepare them for serving as a surgical leader in the role of a Department Chair, Center Director, CEO, or Dean. Each ASA Future Leader Fellowship consists of one-week visits to two academic institutions during the Fellowship year. Each visit must be with a different academic host and surgical leader. Host leaders must be ASA members who have volunteered to participate. The host must be currently serving as a Chair of a surgery department, Center Director, Dean, or CEO, or an equivalent position.
Learn more about this award.
View previous recipients.

ASA Medallion for Scientific Achievement
The Medallion for Scientific Achievement is the highest honor bestowed by the American Surgical Association.
View previous recipients.

ASA Medallion for Advancement of Surgical Care
The ASA Medallion for Advancement of Surgical Care recognizes individuals who have made innovative and lasting contributions to the advancement of the care of the surgical patient, in any aspect of clinical surgery or surgical education/mentorship, which truly established new benchmarks or paradigms.
View previous recipients.

© Copyright 2023. Privacy Policy
American Surgical Association
500 Cummings Center, Suite 4400, Beverly, MA 01915
(978) 927-8330 | FAX (978) 524-0498
Email ASA
12:29:07 AM
Saturday, January 28, 2023