American Surgical Association
ASA Council
E. Christopher Ellison, MD
Robin S. McLeod, MD
Vice President
Ernest E. Moore, Jr., MD
Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD
B. Mark Evers, MD
Jeffrey A. Drebin, MD, PhD
James S. Economou, MD, PhD
Keith D. Lillemoe, MD
Ronald V. Maier, MD

The object of this Association shall be the cultivation and improvement of the science and art of surgery, the elevation of the standards of the medical profession and such other matters as may come legitimately within its sphere.

- ASA Bylaws

The 138th ASA Annual Meeting was held at the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge with 585 physicians and 104 spouses and guests in attendance. Thirty-two (32) outstanding papers were presented during the Scientific Sessions of the 2018 meeting. During the Opening Ceremony four new Honorary Fellows were introduced: Drs. Stephen W.K. Cheng of Hong Kong, China; Mario Morino of Turin, Italy; Juan A. Pekolj of Buenos Aires, Argentina; and Cornelis van de Velde of Leiden, Netherlands. All four were greeted with a warm welcome by the ASA meeting audience. More


View photos from the 138th Annual Meeting


American Surgical Association 139th Annual Meeting
American Surgical Association 139th Annual Meeting
April 11-13, 2019
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas, Texas


Read action & informational items More


View names More


Support the future of surgery More


View recipients More


View roster More




Member Subscription Discounts More

Additional Links

ASA Committees
ASA 2018 Annual Meeting
ASA Foundation