American Surgical Association
ASA Council
Robin S. McLeod, MD
Selwyn M. Vickers, MD
Vice President
Karen E. Deveney, MD
Mary T. Hawn, MD
B. Mark Evers, MD
Jeffrey A. Drebin, M.D., Ph.D.
E. Christopher Ellison, MD
Keith D. Lillemoe, MD
Ronald V. Maier, MD

The object of this Association shall be the cultivation and improvement of the science and art of surgery, the elevation of the standards of the medical profession and such other matters as may come legitimately within its sphere.

- ASA Bylaws
Close Article
ASA 139th Annual Meeting Highlights

The 139th ASA Annual Meeting was held at the Fairmont Dallas, Dallas, Texas with 571 physicians and 63 spouses and guests in attendance. Thirty-two (32) outstanding papers were presented during the Scientific Sessions of the 2019 meeting.

During the Opening Ceremony four new Honorary Fellows were introduced: Drs. Andrew Graham Hill of Auckland, New Zealand; Jamal J. Hoballah of Beirut, Lebanon; Masaki Mori of Fukuoka, Japan; and Selman Uranues of Graz, Austria. All four were greeted with a warm welcome by the ASA meeting audience.

The Medallion for Scientific Achievement was awarded to Dr. Ernest E. Moore, Jr. of Denver, Colorado. The Medallion for Scientific Achievement is given periodically to a surgeon who has served his field with unusual distinction. The Medallion for the Advancement of Surgical Care was awarded to Dr. Thomas J. Fogarty of Mountain View, California. The Medallion for the Advancement of Surgical Care recognizes seminal contributions in clinical surgery or surgical education that truly established new benchmarks or paradigms. These medallions represent the highest awards bestowed by the Association.

A highlight of Thursday's program was Dr. E. Christopher Ellison's Presidential Address, "Time and Change: The Importance of Innovation and Leadership to the Future of Surgery." Programming on Friday featured the enlightening Forum discussion, "Challenges to Surgical Innovation" moderated by Dr. Ellison and with presentations from Drs. Jeffrey L. Ponsky, Michael Harrison, Peter Angelos, Mary H. McGrath, and Thomas M. Krummel.

At the Executive Session on Friday the Flance-Karl Award was presented to Dr. Elliot L. Chaikof of Boston, Massachusetts. The Flance-Karl Award is given to recognize outstanding basic science contributions by surgeons who have reached maturity to the degree that they have had an important impact on clinical practice.

In addition update reports were given by ASAF Fellowship recipients, Dr. Matthew Delano of the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI; Dr. Joseph Scalea of University of Maryland, Baltimore, MD; and Dr. Mohamed Zayed of Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO. The Foundation also named three new Fellowship recipients in 2019: Drs. Rohit Chandwani, of Weill Cornell Medicine, New York, NY, for the project entitled, "Memory of Inflammation in the Pre-Neoplastic Pancreas"; Jonathan D. Spicer of Research Institute of the McGill University Health Center, Montreal, QC Canada for the project entitled, "Targeting Neutrophils as a Novel Therapeutic Adjuncts to the Treatment of Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Patients"; and David H. Stitelman of Yale University, New Haven, CT, for the project entitled, "Fetal Gene Editing for Hemoglobinopathies".

A bylaw amendment was passed that would add the Vice President to the Program Committee as Ex Officio with vote, thereby expanding its membership to ten. This proposed amendment shall now lie over for one year, and be presented for a second time at next year's Executive Session of the 2020 Annual Meeting, at which time adoption of the proposed amendment shall require a supporting vote of at least three-fourths of the Fellows present.

Close Article     Back to Top